Legacy Series

Hold over each cover to read more about the book. Clicking the cover, or the popup, will take you to an excerpt if there is one.

The Wyndham Legacy - Catherine Coulter

The Wyndham Legacy

Reading Order: 1

Dear Reader:
Welcome to The Wyndham Legacy, the first novel of the Legacy trilogy, set in England in my favorite era, the Regency period. There are actually two legacies: one from the distant past; the other a very current one that touches our main man very directly - indeed, one that smacks him in the chops.
Marcus Wyndham never asked to become the Earl of Chase. The Duchess never asked to be illegitimate, And neither of these two asked that their fates become so entwined.
Marcus is passionate, quick to rage, just as quick to laughter. He's tough, opinionated, domineering, known as the devil's own son. The Duchess is serene and aloof - she has silence down to a fine art. She is always in control, her smiles as rare as bawdy jests in the pulpit. She is self-reliant once she realizes that a very special talent can make her so, a talent no one suspects.
Surrounding this unlikely pair are three servants cast in the Shakespearean mold: Spears, Badger, and Maggie -cocky, smart, good plotters and better friends, who don't know the meaning of subservient.
Add to this the American Wyndhams - and who can trust an American Wyndham? - bucketfuls of intrigue, laughter, and a love story that will wring your wither. I hope you'll enjoy yourself thoroughly with The Wyndham Legacy.

The Nightingale Legacy - Catherine Coulter

The Nightingale Legacy

Reading Order: 2

Dear Reader:
In The Nightingale Legacy, Caroline Derwent-Jones is at the eve of her nineteenth birthday. She's chomping at the bit to get out from under the control of her smarmy guardian, the frighteningly obsessive Roland Ffalkes. But Ffalkes has other plans for Caroline. She manages to escape him only to find herself in the fascinating company of Frederick North Nightingale, Lord Childon.
As tragedy and mystery thicken the air, Caroline finds herself more and more drawn to Lord Chilton, a man who claims he's a lonely beggar, his soul suited for solitude and for walking his hounds on the moors.
Mysteries old and mysteries new abound. Misogyny is rampant in Lord Chilton's house, Mount Hawke, filled only with men. But to his surprise, Lord Chilton finds he wants nothing more than to have Caroline Derwent-Jones in his life.
Do let me know if I derail you on the mystery. Do enjoy Caroline and North, two of my all-time favorite characters.

The Valentine Legacy - Catherine Coulter

The Valentine Legacy

Reading Order: 3

Dear Reader:
In the early 1820's, horse racing was a down and dirty sport. James Wyndham, who owns racing stables in both England and America, finds his racing nemesis in red-haired Jessie Warfield, renowned hoyden and champion jockey, who knows as many dirty racing tricks as James does. When either wins a race, the other's nose gets rubbed in the dirt.
Jessie has known James for six years, since she was fourteen years old. She often wants to kick him for the way he treats her, but more importantly, she adores him. She just doesn't know how to show it.
When chance throws Jessie out of a tree, finding her on top of James, she is pronounced Ruined. When she decides to run, she really goes for it, all the way to England, to James's cousins, Marcus and Duchess Wyndham.
James arrives, laden with guilt, to find a Jessie who sounds like the old Jessie but isn't. Jessie has undergone a transformation worthy of Pygmalion.
Will James do the Right Thing and undo Jessie's Ruin? What about Jessie's nightmares that seem to call up something terrible from her childhood?
There's a treasure to be found on the Outer Banks, a mystery to be solved, a love story that will plant a smile on your mouth for a long time, and lots of laughter.
Let me know which of the three Legacy novels you like best.